Denmark: diving into history and fairy tales

After some great days in Germany my trip is taking me further north to Denmark. I’m especially curious about the capital but I also got some secret tips from the Danish tourism board. Just like the Netherlands, Denmark is not a very big country, so you get around easily. What are we waiting for?

Blog Holland Denmark Den Gamble By

Reviving the past in Den Gamble By

Den Gamble By is a small town in the north of Denmark, which is famous for its Old Town Museum. When you enter the open air museum you feel transferred to an old Danish market town, as it looked in times of the famous author Hans Christian Andersen. There are historical houses, streets, alleys, yards, gardens and workshops. I learn that the oldest buildings date from 1550 to 1900. But it’s not only a dead town. There are people living here just like in the old times. They  cook, chop wood and serve customers in the various shops. A girl at the well greets me and asks me to help her fetch the water and a beautiful maid smiles at me. When I check my watch for the first time a realize with surprise that I have spent at least 4 hours here.

MrHolland_Vakantie_Denemarken

The art and food of Copenhagen

As you may have noticed in my earlier posts, I’m crazy about good food. That’s why I’m very glad that my dear friend Viona gave me the tip to visit Torvehallerne, a real mecca for food lovers. I don’t know where to begin. There are about 60 stalls, full of fresh fish and meat, crispy bread, sweet cupcakes and delicious vegetables from all around the world. I made a serious attempt to try all the offered food, but soon I realize that I have to give up. My belly hurts and it’s time to walk the food off.

In the afternoon I visit Statens Museum for Kunst. It is Denmark’s largest art gallery and exhibits Danish and international works of art from the past seven centuries. I visit the exhibition Flowers and World Views, which contains flower paintings from the last two centuries and also some strange blooms, I have never seen before.

130804 Blog Holland Holiday Denmark Copenhagen

Finally, I’m can’t wait to see the statue of the Little Mermaid, the fairy take character Hans Christian Andersen wrote about. It is a sad story a bout a 15-year old mermaid that saves a prince from drowning and falls in love with him. Since she wants to be with him so badly, she sells her voice to the sea witch in exchange for human legs. In the end, she does not get the legs but is transformed into deadly, cold sea foam instead.  A tale that moved the world.

Plan my visit to your country

I had a nice time in Denmark. Now I will travel to Norway and the UK. Can you recommend any great places in these countries I should definitely visit? Please share your secret tip with me!

Love to know how you feel about this. Please leave a reply!

