Spain: dive into the southern culture

After exploring France I’m in the mood for even more sunshine so I grabbed a train to Spain. But before I ended up lazy on the beach with a bucket of juicy Sangria, I wanted to discover some Spanish culture. Here are my favourite sights.

MrHolland_Holiday_Spain__Barcelona

Say ‘Hi’ to Gaudi in Barcelona

I couldn’t wait to get to Madrid. But my friend Lucila  asked me to make a stop in Barcelona before heading to the capital. She told me about the great architecture of Antoni Gaudi and wanted to show it to me. We spent some hours walking and around and admiring his various works. Honestly, most of them were kind of strange. But his style is so daring and unique that you should have a look at it, when you are close to Barcelona.

Blog Holland Spain Madrid Museo del Prado

Art flash in Madrid

Of  course, Van Gogh and Rembrandt are my favourites, But I’m also a big fan of Salvador Dali en Pablo Picasso. That’s why I wanted to go to the Reina Sofia since they have the greatest public collection of both artists. While admiring Dali’s The Persistence of Memory I met another art lover who gave me the tip o visit Museo del Prado where I could view the paintings of other Spanish artists. His recommendation turned out to be great! The museum offered great art from the 14th to the 19th century. By the way, both museums have free entry during most days of the week.

In the evening I need a cool down. I found a cosy tavern at the edge of the city where I ordered a cold beer. While I rested my tired feet I noticed two gypsy guys starting to play some sweet flamenco music on their guitars. That’s how I imagine a perfect day on holiday.

Blog Holland Holiday Spain Granada Alhambra

Cool down in Granada

In the hills of Granada is the Alhambra Moorish fortress, which protected the inhabitants of the city from invasion by Christian crusaders for hundreds of years. Even though Alhambra is more than a thousand years old, the fortress is stunningly beautiful. I could have spent hours walking around the walls and through the colourful gardens, but suddenly, my stomach screams for food.

Back in the city centre I decide to fight my hunger with a Spanish tradition. Nearly every bar serves tapas and in some places you get them even for free with each drink you order. So guess what? I tried the many different wines until my belly was filled to the top. It was delicious.

Plan my visit to your country

I had a nice time in Spain. Next station is Italy. Furthermore I will travel to Germany, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, Norway and the UK. Can you recommend any great places in these countries I should definitely visit? Please share your secret tip with me!

4 thoughts on “Spain: dive into the southern culture

  1. Pingback: France: hidden secrets off the beaten track | Meet Mr. Holland Blog

  2. Pingback: Portugal: an unexpected invitation to Lisbon | Meet Mr. Holland Blog

Love to know how you feel about this. Please leave a reply!

